Daily Miracles: Lesson 5

James Leroy Wilson
1 min readJan 25, 2022

No small upsets.

I am never upset for the reason I think. (ACIM, W-5)

This may be hard to process. I like to think I am upset about international relations, or a public health crisis, because I have empathy and compassion for others and I don’t want to see them suffer. But actually, I’m more inclined to be angry toward those I think are responsible for the suffering, than I am sad about the suffering itself.

It’s helpful to get this statement, that sounds like it could be a lesson in and of itself:

³There are no small upsets. ⁴They are all equally disturbing to my peace of mind. (ACIM, W-5.4:3–4)

Feeling some soreness in a part of a body, or thinking I should have cleaned the bathtub, upsets my peace of mind as much as past regrets, or war, or social injustice.

To follow up on the lessons so far, they don’t mean anything.

James Leroy Wilson writes Daily Miracles, The Daily Bible Chapter, JL Cells, and The MVP Chase. Thanks for your subscriptions and support!

(Photo credit: Ivoronwik)

--

--

James Leroy Wilson

Former activist. Writer with a range of interests from spirituality to sports.