Human sacrifice?

Confusing words at the end of Leviticus

James Leroy Wilson
3 min readMay 16, 2022

Welcome to the Daily Bible Chapter. My name is James Leroy Wilson and I invite you to join me as I attempt to read the Bible with fresh eyes, as if I don’t know anything about it, and without consulting experts on what it “really” means.. Let’s see where this takes us!

I’m reading Young’s Literal Translation (YLT) and the New Revised Standard Version (NRSV).

Leviticus 26

A reiteration against making and bowing down to idols is followed by promises of blessings for keeping the LORD’s statutes. This is followed by descriptions of the dire things that will happen if the Isreaelites are disobedient.

Imagine Israel isn’t a nation, it is you. What happens when you don’t do what you know is right, and do the opposite instead? You get results you don’t want. And if you persist in doing wrong, the disasters pile up.

You are Shem, and you’ll enslave Ham or be enslaved by Ham.

Leviticus 27

I was confused by this chapter and had to look up the meaning of “vow,” which I had assumed was another word for oath. Merriam-Webster says, “a solemn promise or assertion, specifically : one by which a person is bound to an act, service, or condition”.

--

--

James Leroy Wilson

Former activist. Writer with a range of interests from spirituality to sports.