The Conflict Addiction

Lesson 55 of A Course in Miracles

James Leroy Wilson
2 min readApr 4, 2022

Welcome to Daily Miracles, a running commentary on the 365 lessons of A Course in Miracles, an influential spiritual text from the 1970s. I am James Leroy Wilson and I invite you to join me as I go through this material for the first time.

Lesson 55’s review:

(21) I am determined to see things differently. (ACIM, W-55.1:1)

(22) What I see is a form of vengeance. (ACIM, W-55.2:1)

(23) I can escape from this world by giving up attack thoughts. (ACIM, W-55.3:1)

(24) I do not perceive my own best interests. (ACIM, W-55.4:1)

(25) I do not know what anything is for. (ACIM, W-55.5:1)

Two sentences stuck out to me:

  • ²How could I recognize my own best interests when I do not know who I am? (ACIM, W-55.4:2)
  • ²To me, the purpose of everything is to prove that my illusions about myself are real. (ACIM, W-55.5:2)

When I encounter news of the world, I get a brief feeling of exhilaration in assuming I’m intellectually and morally superior when I think about the inconsistencies in the policies and statements of political leaders.

It’s as if I’m “seeing” a world that confirms and conforms to a vision I have for it, in which I’m the enlightened one in a mass of darkness.

This sense of separation doesn’t serve me, isn’t in my “own best interests.”

But I understand the passion that comes with conflict. It can be addicting.

James Leroy Wilson writes Daily Miracles, The Daily Bible Chapter, JL Cells, and The MVP Chase. Thanks for your subscriptions and support!

(Photo credit: Ivoronwik)

--

--

James Leroy Wilson

Former activist. Writer with a range of interests from spirituality to sports.